

Special Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates Saturday, December 2, 2023

In Person

at West End Baptist Church, 1986 Preston St. Halifax Meet for Coffee and Conversation at 10:00 am

Via Zoom

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/87390813381?pwd=a6H05sQ38cySt0J4Q8zLgaApfjMWxi.1 Meeting ID: 873 9081 3381 Passcode: 047457 Login, Register and Chat at 10:15 am

Business Meeting at 10:30 am

Agenda

- 1. Meeting call to Order/Welcome: Moderator Rev. Dr. Frank Guinta Jr.
- 2. Treaty Land Acknowledgement: Past Moderator/Clerk Ann Taylor We acknowledge that we are meeting in Mi'kma'ki (meek ma gee), the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq People. As we perform our work today, we commit to the work it takes to create a culturally safe, inclusive and anti-racist culture within our HRUBA meetings and events. We acknowledge the equality of all communities and, we encourage, respect and kindness toward these communities, in this meeting and in our daily lives.
- 3. Devotion and Prayer
- 4. Rules of Order: Clerk Ann Taylor
 - a. Time Keeper: David Gibson
 - b. Quorum Count: (requires Delegates from 15 member churches)
- 5. Approval of the Agenda
- 6. Report from the HRUBA Nominating Committee (see attached)
- 7. Vote on Motions related to the Nominating Committee Report (see attached)
- 8. Other Business and Announcements
 - A Conversation with Rev. Renée MacVicar, the new CBAC Executive Director Saturday, December 9, 2023; 9:00 am to 1:00 pm, lunch provided Bedford Baptist Church, 158 Rocky Lake Drive, Bedford
 - b. Other
- 9. Motion for Adjournment
- 10. Closing Prayer: Moderator Rev. Dr. Frank Guinta Jr.

Halifax Region United Baptist Association HRUBA Council

Nominating Committee Report with Changes for Vote at Meeting of Association Body of Delegates December 2, 2023

and Advance Notice of Nominations for 2024 Annual General Meeting

Officers

Position	2023-24 Incumbents and Changes	2024-25 Nominations
Moderator	At present:	Co-Moderator Dr. Frank Guinta
	Rev. Dr. Frank Guinta	Co-Moderator Rev. John Purdy
	Following Members Meeting:	
	Co-Moderator Dr. Frank Guinta	
	Co-Moderator Rev. John Purdy	
Vice-Moderator	At present:	Rev. Scott Kohler
	Rev. John Purdy	
	Following Members Meeting:	
	Rev. Scott Kohler	
Past Moderator	Ann Taylor	
Clerk *	Ann Taylor	
(see note below)		
Treasurer	Until December 31, 2023;	Russell Sketchley
	Ann Taylor	
	Linda Crilley (Financial Advisor	
	Following Members Meeting, add:	
	Russell Sketchley (Assistant Treasurer)	
	Effective January 1, 2024:	
	Russell Sketchley (Treasurer)	

*Note:

Reduced role for Clerk:

- Co-Moderators develop Agendas for Executive, Council and Member Meetings
- Co-Moderators arrange for Meeting Notes for Executive Meetings
- Clerk takes Meeting Notes for Council and Member Meetings
- Communications Chair distributes Agendas and Meeting Notes for Executive, Council and Member Meetings, and
- Clerk is the Recognized Agent of the HRUBA to government agencies and makes reports to these agencies as required by legislation.

Council

Officers, Chairs of Committees or leaders of HRUBA Ministries, up to two Members at Large

Executive Team

Moderator (or Co-Moderators), Vice Moderator, Past Moderator, Clerk, Treasurer, Communications Chair, Power to Add from Members of Council

Financial Team

Treasurer, (Assistant Treasurer) Clerk, Hospital Chaplaincy Treasurer

Committees of Council

Name of Committee	2023-24 Chair and Members	2024-25 Chair and Members
Communications	At Present:	Chair: Rev. Scott Kohler
	Chair: Dave Gibson	Members: Dave Gibson
	Following Members Meeting:	
	Chair: Rev. Scott Kohler	
	Member: Dave Gibson	
Home Missions	Chair: Rev. John Purdy	Chair:
and New Membership	Retiring March 2024	Members:
	Members:	
Licensing	Chair: Rev. Darren Millett	Chair: Re. Darren Millett
	Following Members Meeting, add	Member: Rev. Dr. Raphael Iluyomade
	Member: Rev. Dr. Raphael Iluyomade	
Hospital Chaplaincy	Chair: Alan Barkhouse	Chair: Alan Barkhouse
	Secretary: Rev. Dr. Marlene Knowles	Secretary: Rev. Dr. Marlene Knowles
	Treasurer: Dave Gibson	Treasurer: Dave Gibson
	Members: Rev. Wayne Desmond	Members: Rev. Wayne Desmond
	Steve Baker – AUBA	Steve Baker – AUBA
	Lic. Sharon White (<i>on furlough</i>)	Lic. Sharon White (on furlough)
	Chaplains: Rev. Joe Green	Chaplains: Rev. Joe Green
	Rev. Dr. Ida Armstrong-Whitehouse	Rev. Dr. Ida Armstrong-Whitehouse
Bayside Camp and	Executive Director: Joshua Throop	Executive Director: Joshua Throop
Retreat Centre	Separate Board of Directors	Separate Board of Directors
Constitution	Chair: Dave Gibson	Chair:
	Members:	Members: Dave Gibson
Nominating	Chair: Past Moderator	Chair: Past Moderator
_	Members:	Members:
Program	Chair: Vice-Moderator	Chair: Vice-Moderator
	Members:	Members:
Council Members at	At present:	Member: Rev. Dr. Raphael Iluyomade
Large	Member: Rev. Dr. Elias Mutale	With intention of becoming Vice-
	Member: Vacant	Moderator in FY 2025-26
	Following Members Meeting:	Member: Pastor Tim Cheprasov
	Member: Rev. Dr. Elias Mutale	
	Term expires at 2024 AGM	
	Member: Rev. Dr. Raphael Iluyomade	
Members Appointed to	Rep. to CBAC Examining Council:	Rep. to CBAC Examining Council:
Other Organizations	Rev. John Purdy/Rev. Dr. Frank Guinta	Rev. John Purdy/Rev. Dr. Frank Guinta

Note: Chairs of Committees are responsible for finding members for their committees (do not need to be members of Council) and presenting those members to Council for ratification.

Halifax Region United Baptist Association Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates: Saturday, December 2, 2023 Motions from the Nominating Committee

Whereas, Section 10.3 of the HRUBA By-Law #2 requires:

"The Officers of the Association shall be elected by the Delegates at a Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates"; and

Whereas, Section 11.3 of the HRUBA By-Law #21 requires:

The Members of the Association Council shall be elected by the Delegates at a Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates"; and

Whereas, there are presently vacancies among the Officers and Council Members; and Whereas, the Nominating Committee has found nominees for some of these vacancies;

Therefore, be it resolved that:

Motion #1:

Moderator—Effective at the adjournment of this Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, and until the next Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, the Moderator position shall be occupied by two Co-Moderators, Rev. Dr. Frank Guinta Jr. and Rev. John Purdy.

Motion #2:

Vice-Moderator--Effective at the adjournment of this Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, and until the next Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, Rev. Scott Kohler is elected to the position of Vice-Moderator.

Motion #3:

Treasurer--Effective at the adjournment of this Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, and until December 31, 2023, Russell Sketchley is appointed as Assistant Treasurer, and effective January 1, 2024, and until the next Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates Russell Sketchley is elected as Treasurer.

Motion #4:

Member at Large— Effective at the adjournment of this Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, and until the next meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, Rev. Dr. Raphael Iluyomade is elected to the position of Member at Large of the Association Council.

Motion #5:

Chair of Communications Committee—Effective at the adjournment of this Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, and until the next meeting of the Association Body of Delegates, Rev. Scott Kohler is elected to the position of Chair of the Communications Committee.

Motion #6:

Member of the Licensing Committee—This Meeting of the Association Body of Delegates ratifies the decision of the HRUBA Council to appoint Rev. Dr. Raphael Iluyomade as a member of the Licensing Committee.